Half Marathon Training – Week 3

Week 3 was supposed to be my breakout week. Back from vacation feeling good and weather cooling off a bit. Things don’t always go as planned as most of you know.

Week started off great. I PR’d my 5k time (27:51) without even trying. Not even in a race. Next morning I felt a little something in my left knee. Not pain, just something wasn’t right. I made the decision to not run since I’m still over 12 weeks away. I ran a little 2 miles the following day and took Friday off as scheduled. Hoping this would go away. Saturday I ran in the gym to go lighter on the knee even though it wasn’t bothering me. All good except on Saturday after my run, I stubbed my little toe (sandals) on our cement steps while washing our cars. Broken or bruised? Wasn’t sure, but hurt a bit and was certainly tender.

Sunday, last day of the week and needed to give my knee a little test and overcome the toe thing. Toe felt better and no pain when stepping on it, so good! I got out just before sunrise (pictured) for a run at my favorite place so I could just relax and enjoy the run. I didn’t hit the target 5 miles, but 3.6 was a good enough test today and was content with my effort. Knee was fine during run, but that little knot again for a few hours after.

IMG_1577

I missed the mark this week (again) but I know I sacrificed a little short term, hopefully for success long term.

Week 3 results below, Let’s see how week 4 goes?

WEEK 3 Goal Actual
Mon 0.0 0.0
Tues 3.0 3.1
Wed 3.0 0.0
Thu 3.0 2.0
Fri 0.0 0.0
Sat 3.0 3.0 Gym
Sun 5.0 3.6
Tot 17.0 11.7

Sunrise at Cooper River, NJ

IMG_1576

Leave a Reply

